A Taste of Normal

I went out today.

My brother works at Dave n Busters. It’s basically like a grown up Chuck E Cheese. It has a dining room, sports lounge and bar, plus a ton of arcade games. Since they are a new store, they have sort of like a soft opening – to give everyone practice doing their jobs in a lower key environment.

We were provided with a beverage, appetizer and entrée, and a play card.

It was a blast. I had the Mac N Cheese. It had chicken and bacon and it was fantastic.

It was my first major outing with my mama in almost six weeks. It was nice, AND it gave me a little bit of anxiety. The room was noisy, and there were A LOT of people. I’ve noticed people don’t have a very good sense of space/people around them. Or if they do, they don’t care. I had a moment where I felt like I couldn’t breathe. Got myself grounded very quickly and then enjoyed myself.

Before we did that we saw a movie – Bleed for This. It’s a story about a boxer making an epic comeback after surgery. It was good – a little slow in the beginning but the type of movie I needed to see. You know, facing adversity it’s all about how you decide what you’re going to do with it.

I also got a call from someone I don’t directly work with/know very well, just calling to see how I was and ask if I needed anything. It’s moments like this that remind me how blessed and loved I am.

 

Leave a Reply

